Australia lifts World Cup Cricket trophy after defeating India

Indian batting line crumbles after sound start to put up a formidable total against the Australians.

AHMEDABAD: At the final of the Men’s World Cup Cricket Tournament here on Sunday, the so-far unbeatable India crumbled against Australia with the latter lifting the trophy by defeating the host with six wickets.

The Indian batting line crumbled after a quite sound start to put up a formidable total against the Australians and could score 240 runs in the 50 hours with K.L. Rahul 66 and Virat Kohli 54 runs. In reply, Australia chased the target with the loss of four wickets in the 43rd overs.

Australia won the world title for the sixth time – in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015 and 2023. Out of 12 World Cup finals played before today, only five times the team batting second was able to emerge triumphant with India being one of them as the Blues, for at least the next four years, will hold the record for the highest chase in the World Cup final.

India failed to defend the 241-run target and break the streak of the chasing side winning the World Cup finals as the last three titles have gone to the teams batting second.

Australia: Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis (wk), Pat Cummins (c), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood.

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj.

Comments are closed.