PTI trounces JUI-F in LG by-poll in Peshawar

Seat fell vacant after the death of tehsil chairman Farid Ullah of JUI-F.

PESHAWAR: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) clinched victory in the Peshawar local government by-election winning the slots for chairman tehsil council Mathra, Havelian and Abbottabad.

According to the provisional consolidated result from all the 155 polling stations in Mathra, Inam Ullah of PTI secured 20,333 votes.

This seat fell vacant after the death of tehsil chairman Farid Ullah of JUI-F.

Meanwhile, the Maulana Fazlur Rehman-led Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) failed in the said constituencies.

Its candidate, Rafiullah, could not win the chairmanship of the tehsil council Mathra and remained second by securing 13,564 votes.

Among the other candidates, Iftikhar Ahmed of the Jamat-e-Islami I for 9,546 votes, Aziz Ghaffar of ANP got 2,721 votes, Ali Abbas of PPP got 5,377 votes and Fazlullah of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) got 3,351 votes.

As many as 55,607 people cast their vote while the turnout remained at 26%.

According to reports, the result of the Havelian tehsil council was delayed after a scuffle. But later on, according to the results of 134 polling stations in Havelian, independent candidate Uzair Sher Khan won the polls after bagging 21,464 votes. At the same time, Iftikhar Khan of PTI got 18,521 votes and Talha Asif of PML-N received 14,892 votes.

Comments are closed.