16th National Assembly members take oath

PTI members encircle leader of the house Shehbaz Sharif and PML-N supremo Nawaz Sharif.

ISLAMABAD: Members of the 16th National Assembly took oath at the session of the house chaired by outgoing speaker Raja Pervez Ashraf on Thursday. 

The session started with recitation of the holy Quran and Naat. Members of the Sunni Ittehad Council started chanting slogans near the PML-N and PPP leaders. 

Former president Asif Ali Zardari, ex-prime ministers Nawaz Sharif and Shehbaz Sharif, JUI-F chief Molana Fazlur Rehman and PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari also took oath.

The house consists of 336 members out of which 266 are directly elected while others are nominated by different political parties on reserved seats for women and minorities.

After the oath taking, the speaker asked the members to sign the roll. He said those who want to contest election for the slots of the speaker and deputy speaker to sign the roll first.

Comments are closed.