NA elects Shehbaz Sharif as 24th premier

PML-N leader scores 201 votes against 92 of Sunni Ittehad Council's Omar Ayub.

ISLAMABAD: Shehbaz Sharif was on Sunday elected the 24th prime minister of Pakistan by the National Assembly amid usual rumpus by the opposition members.

Sharif, nominated by the PML-N, PPP, MQM and other parties scored 201 votes against 92 by Omar Ayub of the Sunni Ittehad Council who comprises the members of the PTI.

If we count the CD caretaker prime ministers too, there have been so far 33 prime minister in all.

As the session started under the chair of Speaker Ayaz Sadiq, Sunni Ittehad Council members gathered in front of the dias of the speaker and started chanting slogans. However, as the process to elect the prime minister started, they took their seats.

The members of the JUI-F did not participate in the election of the PM and went out of the hall. Moreover, Sardar Akhtar Mengal did not vote for any candidate and remained seated on his seat.

After his election, Mr Sharif promised that his government would provide subsidies directly to farmers and a package on solar tube-wells will be soon announced.

“The seed mafia will be eliminated and we will import seeds from the best countries in the world and provide them to farmers,” he said, adding that the first of these seeds would be provided free of cost.

He further stated that the centre would work with all four provinces in the sectors of agriculture.

Comments are closed.