By-polls: PML-N grabs most of seats in by-elections

PTI's Pervez Elahi defeated by nephew Musa Elahi in PP-32 Gujrat; PTI alleges rigging.

ISLAMABAD: The PML- won two National Assembly abd 10 of the 12 Punjab Assembly seats in the by-elections held on Sunday, according to unofficial results.

Jailed PTI leader and former chief minister Pervez Elahi was defeated by his own nephew Musa Elahi in PP-32 Gujrat. The PTI alleged rigging and claimed that stuffed ballot boxes were recovered from many polling stations.

According to Election Commission of Pakistan, polling was held on five National Assembly, 12 Punjab Assembly seats, two Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly and two Balochistan Assembly seats.

Two of the National Assembly seats were won by the PML-N, one each by the PPP and IPP and one from Bajaur by an independent candidate where SIC lost.

The NA seats included NA-8 and NA-44 (KP) NA-119 and NA-132 (Punjab) and NA-196 (Sindh). The provincial assembly seats included PK-22 and PK-91 (KP), PB-20 and PB-22 (Balochistan) and PS-80 (Sindh). The Punjab Assembly seats where the by-polls are taking place include PP-32 (Gujrat), PP-36 (Wazirabad), PP-54 (Narowal), PP-93 (Bhakkar), PP-139 (Sheikhupura), PP-147, PP-149, PP-158, PP-164 (Lahore), PP-266 (Rahim Yar Khan) and PP-290 (Dera Ghazi Khan). 

Comments are closed.