Ayaz Sadiq of PML-N becomes NA speaker again

Sadiq is 23rd speaker of National Assembly, held the slot during PML-N's tenure from 2013 to 2018.

ISLAMABAD: Ayaz Sadiq of the PML-N was on Friday elected Speaker of the National Assembly for the second time.

Sadiq was a joint candidate of the PML-N and PPP and received 199 votes against 91 of Muhammad Aamir Dogar of the Sunni Ittehad Council. 

The election of the speaker was held at a session of the National Assembly chaired by outgoing speaker Raja Pervez Ashraf.

During the session, the Sunni Ittehad Council members in the house, as usual, continued chanting slogans and disrupting the proceedings. 

Comments are closed.