Election on six vacated seats of Senate underway

Seats fell vacant after members were elected to provincial and national assemblies.

ISLAMABAD: The election on the six seats of the Senate of Pakistan that fell vacant after resignation of the members is being held today.

The senators tendered their resignation after being elected to provincial and national assemblies in the February 8 general elections. Polling will continue from 9am to 4pm in the national and provincial assemblies.

There is one seat vacant in Islamabad for which PPP’s Yousuf Raza Gilani and Ilyas Meherban of the PTI are the candidates.

Similarly, two seats are up for grab from Sindh and three from Balochistan.

The total number of seats in Senate was 100, including 23 members each from the four provinces and four each from erstwhile FATA and Islamabad.

The 23 seats allocated to a province comprise 14 general seats, four reserved for women, four for technocrats, and one for a minority member.

The Senate has already become dysfunctional after the retirement of half its members on March 11 following their six-year term.

Comments are closed.