Islamabad United lift PSL trophy for third time

Multan Sultan loss final for third consecutive time this year.

KARACHI: Islamabad United clinched the PSL Session 9 Trophy 2024 after defeating Multan Sultans at the final match played at National Stadium Karachi on Monday night.

Multan Sultans skipper won the toss and decided to bat first and in the allotted 20 overs scored 159 runs at the loss of nine wickets.

Usman Khan remained top scorer of Multan Sultan with 57 runs. Iftikhar Ahmed scored 32 runs with three sixes and as many fours and remained not out while Muhammad Rizwan made 27 runs.

Imad Wasim of Islamabad United took five wickets for just 23 runs.

In reply, Islamabad United achieved the target of 160 runs in the 20th overs at the loss of eight wickets. The final match remained thrilling with the two teams fighting for the trophy till the last ball.

It may be mentioned here that Islamabad United had earlier won the PSL trophy twice and Multan Sultans once. Multan Sultans reached the final of the PSL for the third time this year.

Comments are closed.